Tags

, , , , , , ,

I must be living a fairy tale life.  Not a single day passes that something amazing happens to me, be-it a letter from a long lost friend, chance encounters in my tiny world, or the kindness of a stranger.

The fragrance always stays in the hand that gives the rose. 

I still don’t know why I started blogging almost five years ago now but I can say it can be quite intimidating, like being caught naked by a stranger.  I have poured my life, the good, bad, and the ugly out for millions of strangers to live, judge, and know me in so many intimate ways I will never know about the strange eyes reading my words.  What I never expected was the absolute generosity of these strangers.  I have received letters by the thousands, gifts from around the world, had countless strangers show up at the boat with Scotch and even marriage proposals.   The biggest gift is the small hand full of friends I have made who continually make an effort to stay in touch.  The most recent act of random generosity is a book from rOg,  Published in 1910, A Vagabond Journey Around the World.  Its such a treasure I’m almost afraid to touch it.  Rest assured I will take great care of it and return it safely as soon as I can devour the pages.

If a man be gracious and courteous to strangers, it shows he is a citizen of the world, and that his heart is no island cut off from other lands, but a continent that joins to them.                                                                                                                       ~Francis Bacon       

