Tags

, , , , , , ,

When the war with Iraq ended so did my 27 month boycott of cars.  So where do I go from here?

I had been challenged by one of my readers to put my money where my mouth was and I did.

P.S. you owe me $2.00 Melissa I told you I could do it. 🙂

65.7 MPH yep that was the most scarred I have ever been and exilerated.  I honestly didn’t think I would survive the week without my car but something in me was changing.  The Pacific North West can be one of the most difficult places to live with its constant dark and long rainy winters.  I was doing it on a tiny boat with no car and a dog that literally goes everywhere I do.  I have had friends say to me “oh I could never do that”.  You can I tell them, you just choose not to.

You can never have an impact on society if you have not changed yourself.     ~Nelson Mandela

So my boycott continues and I figure we will be at war again within months with Iran so I will continue to be a bicycle activist.

 I know I can’t change the world, but I can change my world.

The question is…whether we shall, by whatever means, succeed in reconstituting the natural world as the true terrain of politics, rehabilitating the personal experience of human beings as the initial measure of things, placing morality above politics and responsibility above our desires, in making human community meaningful, in returning content to human speech, in reconstituting, as the focus of all social action, the autonomous, integral, and dignified human “I,”…                                ~Vaclav Havel

