Tags

, , , , , ,

Oops, I did it again.  I must have oxygen starvation to the brain or something.  I’m embarrassed to admit this but after a fairly successful career in finance apparently I have completely lost the ability to do basic math.  When my commission check arrived it was half of what I expected, I pulled out my pencil re added it up and yep, I’m sailing a ship of fools.

 

It was never my intent to be 43 single and under employed.  Shit happens, right?

But little Mouse, you are not alone,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

So here I am making the best of things,  interesting for sure yet I love every second of every day.  My time is my own to do and see, to learn and explore.  This life of freedom is what I have chosen but it comes at a cost.

I was kidnapped to run errands all  over town and one of the stops was Costco.  I walked through the isles in complete awe, everything was so inexpensive and cheap, there was enough food to feed all of Bellingham yet everybody was so rushed and rude pushing and rushing in a shopping frenzy not willing to wait one extra second before calling out, “out of my way, coming through.

I could smell it before I saw it hot Rotisserie chicken.  I was starving and the thought of meat was overwhelming, $4.99 for a whole cooked chicken.  I walked up to the rack with Sandy, there were only three left.  I stood there staring, mouth watering when the rudest person I have ever countered literally shoved right between us and grabbed a chicken.  I wondered how anyone could be so desperate in a place filled with a million pounds of food.  I didn’t want to but I bought a chicken and shared it with my dog.

Later this same day I went to my local grocery outlet and as I walked the isles searching for organic treasures with short expiration dates.  I wondered how much food I could buy if I just bought crappy junk food.  I had $25.00 to spend.  I bought everything I normally would not.  When I got home I added it all up and it was exactly half a weeks worth of food, the same amount I could have bought if I went all natural, the difference is that most of what I purchased was completly devoid of nutrition.  It was a valuable lesson for me and might explain why those people with all their food in the big box stores are so angry.  They have all the food they can eat but are literally starving to death.  While it might seem that I have very little, I am completely nourished mind, body, and soul.  Forgive me organica for I have sinned, never again.

“He who has health has hope, and he who has hope has everything.” ~ Arabian Proverb

