Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I met the owner of this beautiful little home built and designed pocket cruiser about a year ago.  His plan is sea trials in the San Juan’s till all the bugs are out followed by an open ended cruise south.

Pictures don’t do this little gem justice, she is an absolute beauty and the perfect size for one or two to safely and comfortable cruise anywhere.

Over the course of the last year I have noticed some very interesting trends around here.  Very experienced sailors down sizing to higher quality cruising designs and completely inexperienced boaters, financing the largest boat they can qualify for regardless of quality.  As far as I’m concerned there is no reason two people could possibly ever need more than 32′.  I still think 28 is my perfect size and although I have fantasy’s about sailing my 65′ classic wooden gaff schooner around the Caribbean, my reality is The largest boat I can afford to own is the one I have.

I’m not going to go into a whole diatribe about the state of our economy but I know one simple fact, its going to get worse “a lot worse” before it gets better.  I might be way behind schedule but it doesn’t matter, I will get there and in the meantime I am working towards my end game. Don’t forget the old story by Aesop The ant and the grasshopper.

The boiling frog story is a widespread anecdote describing a frog slowly being boiled alive The premise is that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death. The story is often used as a  metaphor for the inability of people to react to significant changes that occur gradually, open your eyes kids, its heating up around here.

