Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Strange things are happening here in Bellingham and I can only guess it has to do with the blue moon.  The leaves are turning red and falling off the tree’s but its almost strangely balmy here.

A calm has fallen over the bay and wind has disappeared.  I found my first Woolly Bear and it was all orange.  Folk lore has it that the larger the percentage of orange to black the warmer the winter we will have.  I know even the power of the mighty Woolly Bear cant overcome the mighty northerly storms we get once or twice a year but I’m still putting my money on the Caterpillar.

This and the next three years are looking like they will be El Niño years so it looks like we will have lots of precipitation, extraordinarily heavy winds, and frequent storms.  El Niño also signals change and yes I can feel it, change is in the air.  Today is lining up to be and extraordinary day and I cant help but to wonder what tomorrows dawn will bring, there is a gentile calm in the air, but that is soon to change.

It is not light that we need, but fire; it is not the gentle shower, but thunder. We need the storm, the whirlwind, and the earthquake.
~Frederick Douglass

 

