Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I broke into my secret savings today and pulled my last hundred dollar bill, its laundry day.  I wasn’t sure what to do with my new found wealth so I did a Google search, I typed in one hundred dollars.  I remember back in the day when I turned in my student Id for a press pass, I could live quite easily on $100.00 per month for food and entertainment.

They say the best things in life are free

My first year as a professional photographer I made $3,000.00 and I felt like a millionaire, for all intensive purposes I was.  I owned the world, had no debt, boss, no schedule, and no responsibility, not much has changed.

Every day started with a long run through La Jolla in the cool morning mist followed by naked body surfing.  The sun would usually start to peek its head out by 10 AM, I would sit on my deck in the warm sun eating my Wheaties contemplating what amazing things my precious day had in store for me.  Life was simple back then, I didn’t have a cell phone, car, computer, television, or the monthly payments attached to them, I still don’t.   Even back then I understood that it was easier to save buck than make a buck.  My days would end on the beach body surfing after spearing a fish for dinner.  Sunset with an ice cold beer is and was a great way to end the day.

My Google search turned up tones of interesting things, this was my favorite, http://www.onehundreddollarsamonth.com/. I still can and do eat quite well off $100.00 per month and am always learning new tricks.  I received this email this morning and it reminded me that I’m not the only one.

 “Arrived in Hawaii with $150 after spending the previous five months cruising the south pacific living off texturized vegetable protein I bought in Mexico for U.S. $1.30 a kilo. It was always nice to catch a fish.

I left in 2006 on the current boat with “a lot ” of money. It lasted till 2010 which is when I really began cruising. The quote by Sterling Hayden is really true, you should go cruising when you can’t afford it. Everything else is just a “purchased” experience.” http://www.lucidsalt.blogspot.com/

