Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I cant believe its been two years since the day The` arrived.  She was dropped off in the middle of the boatyard with piles of boat gear everywhere.  There were so many pieces I wasn’t sure where to start.  I had my dream boat and 14 cents, life was good, not easy but right where I wanted to be.

Falmouth Cutter 22

On February 10, 2011 I received the following letter, Greetings,

I have a FC for sale. She is on the hard in Long Beach, California. Easily movable as she rests on a newer triple-axel trailer.

If you are interested please call or email for her story and details.

Several emails went back and forth, a 27 hour drive later we had a hand shake deal and my new boat was on her way home.  The days came and went and piece by piece she started to come together.  My hard and fast rule is that first I make her a safe boat, then I make her a comfortable boat, then I make her a pretty boat.

Falmouth Cutter 22

Two years ago I had dreams of sailing to the South Pacific, an open ended voyage of discovery.  These days a small dose of reality has set in, the only cruising plans I have are short hops through the San Juan and Gulf Islands, day sailing and gunkholing.  Sometimes I have to back through my journal to remind myself how far we have come together.

Her list of unfinished projects is long and often seems endless.  The priority’s are constantly changing but pintles and gudgeons are still at the top of my list, as are new cushions since we currently have no double bed to share.  Water tanks and a stove would be nice and a small kicker seems pretty important.  My list has gone from a dozen pages to half and somehow I keep crossing Items off the list.

One thing for sure, nothing has been done half assed.  As of today her refit is 90 percent done, only 50 percent left to go, Happy anniversary The`, I can only Imagine where we will be this time next year.

“When someone tells me “no,” it doesn’t mean I can’t do it, it simply means I can’t do it with them.”
~Karen E. Quinones Miller

