Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Living with the seasons or following them, the choices are many.  The Pacific Northwest has worked its way into my heart the same way the the Sea Of Cortez did way back when.  The live-aboard lifestyle isn’t for everybody but it is for me.

Falmout cutter world best sailboat

When I decided to move aboard a small sailboat it was for many reasons.  The first and foremost I had been unemployed for several years and it was and still is economical.  My criteria was a small safe and simple go anywhere or go nowhere blue water cruiser.  I’m not a gadget guy, I like simple shit.  Give me a good knife and a blanket and I can survive anything.  When it comes to living-aboard there is a simple 50/50 rule that I have come to expect. For every shitty, cold miserable day, one perfect one will follow.  If you want to be pampered and comfortable all the time this might not be the life for you.

Falmouth Cutter interior

I love this lifestyle but it isn’t my only passion, the boat is a great cheap condo on the water that can be moved anywhere anytime.  I tend to spend much more time off the boat than on.  I’m a woods monkey and hiking, foraging and exploring shore-side is my passion.  I’m going to have to learn the art of Pacific foraging fast because our food stores are limited and the budget is zero.  I have been spending extra time researching and practicing my coastal foraging skills but the real test is coming fast.

mountian kilt

Self reliance and self sufficiency are the main goal, freedom to choose my own direction and whatever that may be are the end result.  I come across the naysayers daily, why don’t you do this, or live like that.  I don’t tell people what to do with their life’s and am continually surprised how so many people are more interested in my life and its direction more than their own.

Falmouth Cutter 22

The live-aboard life is good these day but after 2 years of re-building, for the first time I have an almost fully functioning boat.  I didn’t buy a boat to stay in one place, I want to move.  I expect to have the engine sorted out soon but on a zero budget things always take longer than if I would just drop it off at the local mechanic and charge the bill on my credit card.  The good news is I’m learning allot and I have lots of time on my hands, when we head out in July it will be penny-less.  I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I’m not Broke, I’m even.

Port Townsend Wooden Boat Festival

“Which would have advanced the most at the end of a month, — the boy who had made his own jackknife from the ore which he had dug and smelted, reading as much as would be necessary for this, — or the boy who had attended the lectures on metallurgy at the Institute in the meanwhile, and had received a Rodgers penknife from his father? Which would be most likely to cut his fingers?” 

-Henry David Thoreau

