Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Its cold on the boat, really cold.  I have started moving back aboard Sookie while she is in the boat yard with hopes of a launch date being set in the very near future, its time to move on.

Falmouth Cutter 22

It seems like a lifetime has passed since I pulled her out and now just a few short months later she is going back in.  I didn’t do any of the major jobs I’d hoped to but with tight finances and the cold wet weather it just isn’t going to happen.  I’ve decided to wait till I have extra help and a few extra coins in the kitty but my inspection tells me another year wont hurt anything.

“My life changed the day I moved beyond just wishing for things and I started earning them. That is the day I learned that we don’t get what we wish for, we get what we work for.” 
 ~Steve Maraboli

Paying work is non existent here at this time of year so I will sail on hoping to find something better down the road.  I still haven’t been able to add reef lines that work properly so in anything over 20 knots going to weather is impossible.  Its a relatively simple fix once I can afford the parts and tools, something I’m really looking forward to.  I could reef Roo in under a minute.  The other big news is that I have an old oven coming and with a little bit of luck a new used main sail that will let me add a longer boom and finally install lifelines for Chloe so I can sail without having her at arms reach at all times.

“Man is not, by nature, deserving of all that he wants. When we think that we are automatically entitled to something, that is when we start walking all over others to get it.” 
~Criss Jami

It seems that here in the Salish Sea the wind average is under 6 knots or over 20 so I have started a search for a good used cruising spinnaker or super light 135% jib that I can hank on or fly loose luffed.  The last on my list for spring  is new cushions but that is something I consider a luxury.

“I don’t beg for those things which can be earned.” 
~Amit Kalantri

Iv’e lost my internet and while it may seem I’m living in the dark ages there is a light at the end of the tunnel, its called spring and its right around the corner.  So its back to cold beans out of a can but I relish in every bight knowing the what lies just around the corner.

“I’ve learned that making a ‘living’ is not the same thing as ‘making a life’.” 
~Maya Angelou

