Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I miss the days when I could haul of to any third world war zone with little more than my trusty 35mm Nikon, a hundred rolls of film, my blood stained Domke and a note pad.

Nikon beat to shit

I’ve spent that last three years building Boundary Bay Productions, studying digital film making and preparing the vessel that will be my home base for my newest venture as an adventure photographer and documentary film maker.  I’ve spent the last three months studying with Adam Nash a world renown photographer absorbing every little tidbit I can.

The limitations are limitless, proper dry storage, power management, equipment complexity and price.   I’ve settled on what many have said is the worst setup possible.  One single digital DSLR, a Nikon D90 and a net-book for basic processing and photo editing.  If this was my end game it would be  a pretty miserable existence but its not the end, its the beginning.  Still photos are my primary bread and butter but with video taking over the world I need something can can shoot short high quality clips.  5 years ago the Nikon D90 set the world on fire and in my humble opinion was the most sophisticated digital camera on earth.  Now 5 short years later its a dinosaur.  My net book which literally may die today is even worse but its a chicken and egg thing.

I could have easily dropped a few grand on camera gear and a good Mac book but then the boat progress would have suffered.  What would be worse having great gear and no way to use it or having the boat up and running but no way to document the journey?

When I purchased Sookie it wasn’t just to have a great home which she is.  It wasn’t just to have a great sailing boat which she does.  It was to put together the perfect romantic package, a beautiful boat, with beautiful backdrops that would inspire through film, both motion and still.  Had I known that I would be doing it all alone I doubt I would have ever taken on such a huge undertaking.  Had I known how much work it would turn out to be I think I would have chosen a different route.  Had I known how literately impossible the likelihood of success in this endeavor would turn out to be, I think I would have just flown to Hawaii and gone back to my roots as a surf and lifestyle photographer.

I’ve reached a make it or break it point in my journey and while I’m nowhere near giving up I’m temporarily hard aground.  Last night I watched what is quite possibly the worst sailing film I have ever seen, not only did I shell out my last 10 bucks to watch it but I was shocked that anyone would actually waste their time producing such a… well I don’t even know how to describe it so I wont and please dont ask what it was because I’m not going there.

The movie was a sign that there is space in the market for my project even if the project is currently on the rocks.  For inspiration I watch the One Simple Question Movie trailer daily, Ben and Teresa are a constant form of inspiration to me.  For the first time since setting off on this adventure I feel like I have a firm foundation, its time to start building my sky scraper.

“There is something to be learned from a rainstorm. When meeting with a sudden shower, you try not to get wet and run quickly along the road. But doing such things as passing under the eaves of houses, you still get wet. When you are resolved from the beginning, you will not be perplexed, though you will still get the same soaking. This understanding extends to everything.” 
~The Hagakure, A code to the way of the Samuri

