Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The simple answer is no, no thank you, not interested.  This month it was National Geographic, 6 months ago it was the Discovery Channel and there have been dozens in-between.  Little Sookie has somehow become a commodity, advertisers contact me monthly and sailing companies flood my email asking me to review their products.  You won’t see me on the silver screen anytime soon and I won’t be advertising or reviewing products for XYZ on this site.  Sure when I stumble across perfection I talk about it,  When I was handed a brand new Rocna anchor I didn’t want it but now I’m a cool-aide drinking convert and would never consider taking it off my bow.  There are exceptions to every rule but I’m just not interested in advertising, marketing, sales, or Media. This journal will remain what I created it as, a simple little slice of life for those on the outside looking in.

salty dog

Every day since we sailed away from Lopez Island I have run into sailors I know from here or there. This week it was an old client who still loves his new boat as much as I promised him he would. Amazingly funny friends and good people from Port Townsend. An ex girlfriend from my bachelor days in Bellingham. A salty old sailor I met for only 20 minutes 6 years ago but could never forget him or his boat, the list goes on…

A few days ago sitting in the cockpit I could see the top two feet of a mast half way across the harbor.  It was a very distinctive masthead and I wondered if it could be a boat I knew many years ago.  It turned out that it was.  A 1989 Dana 24 That I tried to purchase just before sailing and falling in love with the Falmouth Cutter.  The boat was Silver Cloud, built by the Forman at Pacific Seacraft and a one of a kind Dana for sure.  It used to be docked next to me in Southern California, I spent 6 month trying to negotiate a sale price but just couldn’t spend as much as he wanted.

Spike Africa sailed in the other day, I’ve sailed on that boat both in San Diego and Hawaii, watched its hull restoration in Bellingham and now she is here next to me again.  Life moves pretty slowly around here and so do we.  If there is anything special about our simple little lives its that we are living them to the fullest always surrounded by friends both old and new.  Sometimes the biggest adventure is just living in the moment, taking it all in and appreciating life for what it is.

It’s a world of laughter
A world of tears
It’s a world of hopes
And a world of fears
There’s so much that we share
That it’s time we’re aware
It’s a small world after all

There is just one moon
And one golden sun
And a smile means
Friendship to ev’ryone
Though the mountains divide
And the oceans are wide
It’s a small world after all

 ~Richard M. Sherman

