Tags

, , , , , ,

Sitting in the warm night air a creepy fog rolled in.  The soft glow of the candle lit cabin made  me smile.  I’ve had no power on the boat since my batteries died in January but haven’t missed electric light for a single second.  Life is tough right now and a bit scary, all first world problems.

Falmouth Cutter 22

I remember like it was yesterday, I was standing smack dab in the middle of the Wilshire District berating the ATT cell phone customer service rep.  It was my frustration I remember the most, I live in LA, the epicenter of the world and my phone is dropping every call, my frustrated voice cracked over the phone.  The funny thing is that while I remember that call I can’t for the life of me remember any of the calls that led to it, obviously of very little circumstance.  It’s easy in this day and age to truly believe that the world revolves around me and my life.  I am the epicenter of the world, or at least I spent the majority of my life thinking that I was.

Its easy to ignore the fact that we are bombing the shit out of other countries when I’m almost out of Italian coffee and don’t have money to buy another pound.

I got pissed the other day when my drunk friend put his hand in my varnish after I warned him ten times that I had wet varnish, who cares if half the country is unemployed and starving.

last night we shared the absolute smallest and most pitiful piece of meat I have ever seen.  We didn’t raise or slaugter the animal it came from, we didn’t butcher it or clean it, we just unwrapped it and cooked it and bitched about how small it was.  I wonder what reaction a starving person would have to being offered 100% pure protein, I doubt they would complain.

The internet is so slow here in the resort marina I live in that its a constant form of stress and criticism.  I get stressed out and pissed off because I can’t play online when over half the developing world doesn’t have clean water to drink.

The tourists around here annoy me to no end, everyday I swear I’m moving out to the anchorage.  i wonder what life is like for people who try and live in peace while the US is doing fly by’s in bomber jets and blowing up their towns so I can have cheap fuel for my outboard.  If Cuba was bombing the shit out of the San Juans I would fight back too and then be labeled a terrorist for attempting to keep my family safe.

There is no fresh food on the boat, no snacks, no top shelf whiskey, no light, and not even a real stove.  My cushions need replacing and refilling, my two gallon water tank is a total pain in the ass.  I want lifelines, a boom gallows and a real GPS.  I don’t even own a pair of shoes yet I live in one of the most premire destinations in the world.  My name is stormy and I have so many wants and needs I can’t keep them all straight.  Maybe the world does revolve around me.  Then again maybe I’m just another privileged asshole.

All the problems of the world could be settled if people were only willing to think.  The trouble is that people very often resort to all sorts of devices in order not to think, because thinking is such hard work.  Unknown

